You are here

The Crooked Door (Hardcover)

The Crooked Door By Brad McLelland Cover Image
$17.99
Unavailable
Not Yet Published

Description


Something demonic stirs in this suspenseful horror novel for young readers about a close-knit circle of children, the monster at their whim, and the lone girl who can save her parents from evil—for fans of Victoria Schwab, Katherine Arden, and Holly Black.

"A great, scary read!" —R.L. Stine, author Goosebumps

For Ginny and her parents, losing their home and being forced to move to Nebraska was hard enough, but when a sudden dust storm forces them to seek shelter in the strange town of Pottsville, the real trouble begins. By day, Pottsville is all friendly faces and welcoming storefronts. But at night, creatures lurk in the shadows, and a bossy band of local kids seems to be in charge. And through it all, you can hear the eerie call of the sinister Dirge moaning in the distance, always hungering for a new friend to join its ancient, twisted game.

As Ginny is drawn deeper into the kids’ inner circle, she learns the answer to all her wishes lies just beyond the mysterious Crooked Door. But beware, beware when you knock twice, for every wish comes at a price. Soon, evil boils over in Pottsville, and Ginny must race to save her parents before they’re trapped forever in the Dirge’s dark realm.

About the Author


Brad McLelland was born and raised in Arkansas and spent several years working as a crime journalist in the South. In 2011, he obtained his MFA in creative writing from Oklahoma State University. A part-time drummer and singer, Brad lives in Oklahoma with his wife, stepdaughter, a mini Aussie who gives hugs, and a chubby cat who begs for ham. He is also the co-author of The Legends of the Lost Causes series.

Praise For…


"What happens after you knock twice on the Crooked Door? Your life becomes a HORROR SHOW. Great suspense. Great twists and surprises. A great, scary read!" —R.L. Stine, author Goosebumps and Fear Street

"
Spine-tingling and wholly original. An imaginative romp readers will delight in." —J.C. Cervantes, New York Times-bestselling author of The Storm Runner series

"A beautifully written tale . . . I devoured every spine-tingling page!” —J.A. White, author of Nightbooks

"A vivid, layered, spine-chilling story about the secrets shut beneath a small town’s perfect surface. Read this one with the lights on (and a piece of iron in your pocket!). " —Jacqueline West, New York Times-bestselling author of The Books of Elsewhere and Long Lost

"Atmospheric and spooky from the very first chapter, The Crooked Door promises a thrill ride for any middle-grade reader!" —Lindsay Currie, author of The Girl in White

"With a satisfying (and unsettling) spookiness, The Crooked Door offers chills aplenty—the most shivery kind that linger long after the story ends." —Heather Kassner, author of The Bone Garden

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250124388
ISBN-10: 1250124387
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Publication Date: April 11th, 2023
Pages: 320
Language: English